Topic: Types of Offerings

Home Page: Quantum Study Bible
See: Topic-The Wave Offering and the Sheaf Offering

All the offerings depict Jesus Christ, His actions, His relationship with God and what He has done for us.

The burnt, grain and peace offerings were sweet aroma offerings (Leviticus 1:9; 2:2; 3:5) based on the offerer’s devotion to God.

The sweet aroma offerings foreshadowed how we are to live. A Christian should live his or her life as a “living sacrifice” (Romans 12:1) that is a “sweet-smelling aroma” to God as Christ was (Ephesians 5:2). Our lives should be “spiritual sacrifices” that God will accept (1 Peter 2:5).

  1. Burnt Offering: A sweet aroma
  2. Grain Offering: A sweet aroma
  3. Peace Offering: A sweet aroma
  4. Sin Offering
  5. Trespass/Guilt Offering

Only unblemished animals were to be sacrificed (Leviticus 1:3; 3:6; 4:3; 5:15), representing Jesus Christ, who was unblemished by sin.

Though Jesus was sinless, He willingly took our sins on Himself and paid the penalty we deserve (1 John 3:5; 2 Corinthians 5:21).

As living sacrifices, we are to imitate Christ and give our complete devotion to God (Matthew 22:37; Ephesians 5:1-2). We must freely offer our whole being to God (including our thoughts, will, heart and actions). We are the burnt offering totally burned on the altar to God.

The Sin offering and the Guilt offering deal with sin—the breaking of God’s law (1 John 3:4). The sin offering dealt with the general sins of everyone—the priests, the leadership, the entire congregation and the individual. This represented the truth that all have sinned and have become sinners by nature.

  • For all have sinned and have come short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23

Create a website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: